ME/CFS Research Update - parts 1-6

We report on ongoing ME/CFS research based on data from the ME/CFS Research Register. This research update will be added to step by step to give patients, relatives and interested parties an insight into the current research landscape.

Last update from 22.05.2024: Part 6 adds data on the networking of research groups working on ME/CFS.

We start with data on ME/CFS research in Germany and Austria. The ME/CFS research projects in both countries are fully recorded in the current "beta version" of the recently introduced ME/CFS Research Register and are continuously updated.


If you would like to read this ME/CFS Research Update as a PDF or print it out (e.g. to pass it on offline), you can download the current version here:


Part 1: ME/CFS research is slowly picking up speed (published 01.03.2024)

The data from the ME/CFS Research Register show the significant increase in research intensity since 2022. The public funding for ME/CFS research (at federal and partly at state level) available for the first time since then has made a number of previously unrealisable projects possible.

Most of the 42 ongoing research projects were started in 2022 and 2023. These include, for example, the 11 projects of the NKSG - National Clinical Study Group in the field of clinical research and the five projects of the IMMME – Immune Mechanism of ME basic research (funded by the BMBF, Federal Ministry of Education and Research in Germany). Four further projects were made possible by other public organisations. Additional research is funded by private foundations and patient organisations.

Public funding that has already been announced will enable further new research projects and the continuation of ongoing initiatives, e.g. the NKSG, from around mid-2024. This will create a positive, but also long overdue dynamic in ME/CFS research in Germany. ME/CFS is a medical research field that is characterised by a considerable global backlog compared to other diseases. This backlog is due to the amount of available funding and the number of researchers and working groups actively involved in the ME/CFS field to date. Due to the growing importance of post-infectious diseases in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, ME/CFS research is also receiving increased attention and has been receiving more public funding since the end of 2021.

The ME/CFS Research Foundation will make this development transparent with the publicly accessible ME/CFS Research Register and will also regularly publish up-to-date data on ME/CFS research. In addition to financial project funding, this is an important contribution to supporting ME/CFS research.


Part 2: How are the ME/CFS projects distributed across different types of research?? (published 28.03.2024)

A total of 61 research projects have been or are still being conducted in Germany and Austria since 2019. These are distributed fairly evenly across the three research types:

  • Basic research (24 projects)
  • Epidemiological research (19 projects)
  • Clinical research (18 projects)

It should be noted that clinical research projects generally require much higher financial budgets than basic or epidemiological research. Looking at the research types in terms of the costs incurred, projects in the field of clinical research account for the majority of financial expenditure.

Of the 18 clinical research projects, nine projects are in the Bereichen Diagnostik und Prognostik Three of these projects have already been completed. A further nine projects are concerned with research into possible therapies for ME/CFS in the form of therapy or phase II studies. These include studies on MethylprednisoloneBC007hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT)Vericiguat and several studies on Immunoadsorption. All clinical studies on therapy development are currently still being conducted.

In the ME/CFS Research Register , all 61 projects are described in detail and linked to the involved working groups, researchers and additional information. All projects are assigned to research types , which are also explained in the register. For example, the following subtypes of clinical studies:

  • Diagnostics studies aim to evaluate the accuracy of a diagnostic test or method in identifying a disease. In this way, new biomarkers can be analysed for their diagnostic suitability. 
  • Prognostics studies , on the other hand, examine diagnostic methods in terms of their ability to predict improvement or worsening of a disease over time or following therapy. These studies can be used to determine which biomarkers and diagnostic methods may be able to predict whether a therapy is likely to be successful.
  • Observational therapy studies are used to generate initial findings on the effect of treatment interventions. Therapy studies are adapted to the individual needs of the patients and do not follow a strict study protocol. 
  • Interventional clinical studies, e.g. so-called phase II studies, follow a strict protocol and also include patients who are treated with a placebo. Phase II studies also include a larger number of patients and evaluate the effectiveness of the treatment as well as possible side effects according to a protocol that is uniform for all patients.

Part 3: Which medical research areas are covered by ME/CFS projects? (published 09.04.2024)

In addition to the distribution of projects across research types, i.e. basic, epidemiological and clinical research (see part 2 above), all projects in the ME/CFS Research Register are also differentiated according to medical research areas . Research areas include organs, body systems and health factors studied in connection with the occurrence of ME/CFS. This enables the targeted search for research projects according to thematic focus (e.g. "autoimmunity" or "nervous system disorder" in the ME/CFS Research Register. Please note that most projects are assigned to more than one research area. Hence the total number of research projects in the illustration below exceeds the 61 research projects in Germany and Austria listed in the register so far.

Thegeneralresearch area is the most frequently represented with 25 projects. The term "general" is used when research project is not limited to specific body or organ systems. This includes projects that deal withpatient care,biobanking,general risk factorsor studies dealing withproteomicsortranscriptomics. Projects from epidemiological research in particular are assigned to "general" (17 projects), alongside projects dealing with clinical research (3) and basic research (5). As described above, individual projects can also be assigned to other research areas at the same time.

In addition to "general", the research areas ofimmunological dysfunctionimmunological dysfunction (17 projects, 11 of which are in the field of basic and 6 in the field of clinical research) andcardiovascular dysfunction(14 projects) are among the most frequently investigated areas of ME/CFS research in Germany and Austria to date. 

Research projects to date have also focused on the role ofinfections, the influence of adisturbed nutritional and metabolic systemas well as the role ofnervous system disorder. Fewer projects to date have focussed on disorders of theblood and lymphatic system,mental health, adisturbed musculoskeletal systemorgenetic risk factorsin ME/CFS.

In total, the ME/CFS Research Register lists 82 medical research areas. The terminology used to describe research areas is largely based on the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) terminology of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) as well as on selected literature. The register contains a short description for each of the used terms, incl. a reference to their respective source online. We will publish a comprehensive and systematic overview of the research areas used in the ME/CFS Research Register and their interconnections at a later date.


Part 4: When can results from the therapy and phase II studies be expected?  (published 16.04.2024)

Research on possible treatment approaches targeting the underlying disease mechanisms of ME/CFS is crucial for improving long-term patient care. To date, limited data is available in the form of research on clinical trials for the treatment of ME/CFS. However, in the wake of Long COVID and post-COVID syndrome, more public funding has been made available since 2022 in order to expand the knowledge about possible treatment approaches for ME/CFS.

As explained in part 2 above, nine clinical trials are currently being implemented in Germany, probing biomedical treatment approaches for ME/CFS. Five of them are so-called therapy studies. Another four studies are so-called phase II studies, three of which are being carried out as part of the National Clinical Study Group (NKSG) and one as part of the COVID-19 Research Network Lower Saxony (COFONI) research network. Results of these studies are expected by the end of 2024 and predominantly during 2025 (see figure).

Towards the end of 2024, results are expected from the phase II study on Vericiguat (1: VERI-LONG). At the beginning of 2025, results will come through of the therapy studies on repeat Immunoadsorption (2: RIAand on direct current transcranial stimulation (3: ACTIVATE), as well as of the phase II studies on Immunoadsorption (4: IA-PACS-CFS) and on Methylprednisolone (5: PoCoVIT). The results of another phase II study on Immunoadsorption (6: EXTINCT post COVID) are due in mid-2025. The results of the therapy studies on hyperbaric oxygen therapy (7: HBOTand on immunoadsorption in young patients (8: BIAKI) will follow at the end of 2025. No information is available yet on the planned completion date for the therapy study on BC007 (9: unCOVer). Note: planned completion dates serve as an overall orientation. Actual completion dates may differ from these dates for various reasons.

In summary, by the end of 2025, first data on the effectiveness of five potential therapies for ME/CFS will likely be available, including results from three phase II studies (randomized, placebo-controlled). In order to assess how the interventions and drugs tested may potentially benefit ME/CFS patients in the long-term, further controlled clinical trials with larger numbers of test subjects will be required (phase II and III studies). Additional findings can also be expected stemming from the clinical trials carried out under the NKSG , as a result of the data obtained from the research network’s comprehensive diagnostics and biomarker studies in connection with these trials. 


Part 5: How many working groups are conducting research on ME/CFS?  (veröffentlicht 25.04.2024)

A total of 39working groupsare involved in the ME/CFS research projects, 35 of them in Germany and 4 in Austria. These working groups are spread across a total of 20 different organizations, including universities, university hospitals and research centers. Working groups in medical and scientific research (also referred to as laboratories or “labs”) are groups of people conducting research on specific topics under the direction of experts in their field and that are hosted by at least one organization (e.g. university hospital).

In Germany, 18 of the 35 working groups conducting research on ME/CFS are based at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin and affiliated research institutions. These include the Berlin Institute of Health (BIH) and the Max Delbrück Center (MDC). Other working groups are based at the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE), the Berlin School of Mind and Brain, Helmholtz Munich and the Max Planck Institute in Erlangen. Remaining groups are based at the university hospitals in Aachen, Erlangen, Freiburg, Lübeck and Munich as well as at the universities in Heidelberg, Munich, Regensburg and Würzburg. 

Of a total of four working groups involved in ME/CFS research are found in Austria, out of which two are based at the Medical University of Vienna and one each at the Medical University and the FH Joanneum in Graz.

Allworking groupsconducting research on ME/CFS are listed with descriptions and links to their individual research projects in the ME/CFS Research Register .


Teil 6: How are the ME/CFS research working groups networked with each other? (published 22.05.2024)

So calledresearch networksplay a crucial role in ME/CFS research in addition to the working groups described above. These research networks are alliances or consortia of several research groups that have been established to conduct cooperative research specifically on ME/CFS (as a complete or partial focus) on the basis of joint funding. So far, three German research networks have been established:

The National Clinical Study Group (NKSG) and the research network Immune Mechanisms of ME (IMMME) were both founded in 2022 and are funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). They focus on clinical research (NKSG) and basic research (IMMME) on ME/CFS with a total of 16 ongoing research projects. Funded by the Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture, the COVID-19 Research Network Lower Saxony (COFONI) is currently conducting a clinical trial on ME/CFS (link), but also researches non-ME/CFS-related aspects. 

No comparable research networks have yet been established in Austria. 

Further research networks could be established in Germany in the near future. This is because the additional BMBF funding of €15 million over 3 years announced in September 2023 (link), several new ME/CFS research projects will emerge, which are to be organized in interdisciplinary networks in accordance with the BMBF funding guidelines. As soon as information on these projects and research networks is available, they will be included in the ME/CFS Research Register. We will report on this in due course. 


What happens next?

The subsequent parts of the ME/CFS Research Update will address the following questions, among others:

  • Part 7: How much has been and is being published on ME/CFS in Germany and Austria?
  • Part 8: Conclusion and outlook

We will address these questions based on the data from the ME/CFS Research Register and publish them in the coming weeks.


How can you support the work of the ME/CFS Research Foundation?

There is still a long way to go before diagnosis, care and treatment of ME/CFS patients will one day become a medical and social standard. We at the ME/CFS Research Foundation are focussing on biomedical research, which we see as the key element in solving these problems (more on this in our research funding strategy). To do this, we need extensive support from private donors - patients, relatives, families, friends, associations, schools, networks, companies, initiatives, event organisers and all supporters. And if you can't support us directly, maybe you can share our story and motivate others to help. Because only together is such a feat possible.

We fully translate donations and other support into scientifically excellent research, networking and ultimately visible successes, i.e. better ME/CFS diagnostics and therapies. We are happy to work together with other organisations and initiatives - please contact us! 

We appreciate all kinds of Support!

Please register for our Newsletter:

And please extend our reach and follow us on:

More articles

en_GBEnglish

ME/CFS Forschungs-Update – Teile 1-4

Wir berichten auf Basis der Daten des ME/CFS Research Registers über die laufende Forschung. Dieses ME/CFS Forschungs-Update wird nach und nach ergänzt, um Betroffenen, Angehörigen und Interessierten einen Einblick in die aktuelle Forschungslandschaft zu geben.

Update am 16.04.2024: Teil 4 mit Daten zu klinischen Forschungsprojekten veröffentlicht.

Wir beginnen mit Daten zur ME/CFS Forschung in Deutschland und Österreich. Die ME/CFS Forschungsprojekte beider Länder sind in der aktuellen „beta Version“ des vor kurzem vorgestellten ME/CFS Research Registers vollständig erfasst und werden laufend aktualisiert.


Wer dieses ME/CFS Forschungs-Update als PDF lesen oder ausdrucken möchte (z.B. um es offline weiter zu geben), kann sich die aktuelle Version (Teile 1-4) hier herunterladen:


Teil 1: ME/CFS Forschung nimmt langsam Fahrt auf (veröffentlicht 01.03.2024)

Die Daten des ME/CFS Research Registers zeigen den deutlichen Anstieg der Forschungsintensität seit 2022. Die seitdem erstmals verfügbaren, öffentlichen Fördermittel für ME/CFS Forschung (auf Bundes- und teils auf Landesebene) haben eine Reihe zuvor nicht realisierbarer Projekte ermöglicht.

Die meisten der aktuell 42 laufenden Forschungsprojekte wurden in den Jahren 2022 und 2023 begonnen. Dazu zählen z.B. die 11 Projekte der NKSG – Nationale Klinische Studiengruppe im Bereich der klinischen Forschung sowie die fünf Projekte der IMMME – Immune Mechanism of ME Grundlagenforschung (finanziert durch das BMBF, Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung). Vier weitere Projekte wurden durch andere öffentliche Träger ermöglicht. Zusätzliche Forschung wird über private Stiftungen und Patientenorganisationen finanziert.

Bereits angekündigte öffentliche Fördermittel werden ab ca. Mitte 2024 weitere neue Forschungsprojekte und eine Fortsetzung laufender Initiativen, z.B. der NKSG, ermöglichen. Dadurch entsteht eine gute, aber auch längst überfällige Dynamik in der ME/CFS Forschung in Deutschland. Denn ME/CFS ist ein medizinisches Forschungsfeld, dass global betrachtet von einem erheblichen Rückstand im Vergleich zu anderen Erkrankungen gekennzeichnet ist. Das betrifft sowohl den Umfang verfügbarer Fördermittel als auch die Zahl der bisher aktiv beteiligten Forschenden und Arbeitsgruppen. Durch die wachsende Bedeutung postinfektiöser Erkrankungen im Zuge der COVID-19-Pandemie erfährt auch die ME/CFS-Forschung eine erhöhte Aufmerksamkeit und seit Ende 2021 vermehrt Förderung durch öffentliche Mittel.

Diese Entwicklung wird die ME/CFS Research Foundation mit dem öffentlich zugänglichen ME/CFS Research Register transparent machen und ergänzend regelmässig aktuelle Daten über die ME/CFS Forschung veröffentlichen. Neben der finanziellen Projektförderung ist das ein wichtiger Beitrag, um die ME/CFS Forschung zu unterstützen.


Teil 2: Wie verteilen sich die ME/CFS-Projekte auf unterschiedliche Forschungstypen? (veröffentlicht 28.03.2024)

In Deutschland und Österreich wurden bzw. werden insgesamt 61 Forschungsprojekte seit 2019 durchgeführt. Diese verteilen sich von der Anzahl her recht gleichmäßig auf die drei Forschungstypen (research types):

  • Grundlagenforschung (24 Projekte)
  • Epidemiologische Forschung (19 Projekte)
  • Klinische Forschung (18 Projekte)

Dabei ist anzumerken, dass klinische Forschungsprojekte i.d.R. sehr viel höhere finanzielle Budgets erfordern als Grundlagen- oder epidemiologische Forschung. Betrachtet man die Forschungstypen aus Sicht der jeweils anfallenden Kosten, so machen Projekte im Bereich der klinischen Forschung anteilsmäßig den Großteil des finanziellen Aufwandes aus.

Von den 18 klinischen Forschungsprojekten sind neun Projekte in den Bereichen Diagnostik und Prognostik vertreten. Drei dieser Projekte sind bereits abgeschlossen. Weitere neun Projekte befassen sich mit der Erforschung möglicher Therapien von ME/CFS in Form von Therapie- oder Phase-II-Studien. Dazu zählen z.B. Studien zu MethylprednisolonBC007Hyperbare Sauerstofftherapie (HBOT)Vericiguat und mehrere Studien zu Immunadsorption. Aktuell sind alle klinischen Studien zur Therapieentwicklung noch im Prozess der Durchführung.

Im ME/CFS Research Register sind alle 61 Projekte detailliert beschrieben und mit den beteiligten Arbeitsgruppen, Forschenden und weiteren Informationen verlinkt. Alle Projekte sind Forschungstypen (research types) zugeordnet, die ebenfalls im Register erläutert werden. Zum Beispiel die hier differenzierten Subtypen klinischer Studien:

  • Diagnostik-Studien zielen darauf ab, die Genauigkeit eines diagnostischen Tests oder einer Methode bei der Identifizierung einer Erkrankung zu bewerten. So können neue Biomarker auf ihre diagnostische Eignung untersucht werden. 
  • Prognostik-Studien hingegen untersuchen diagnostische Methoden mit Blick auf ihre Vorhersagekraft was eine Verbesserung oder Verschlechterung einer Erkrankung im Zeitverlauf oder nach einer Therapie betrifft. Über sie lässt sich ermitteln, welche Biomarker und Diagnosemethoden möglicherweise vorhersagen können, ob eine Therapie erfolgversprechend ist.
  • Beobachtende Therapiestudien dienen dazu, erste Erkenntnisse zur Wirkung von Therapiemaßnahmen zu generieren. Therapie-Studien sind an die individuellen Bedürfnisse der Patient:innen angepasst und folgen keinem strengen Studienprotokoll. 
  • Interventionelle klinische Studien, z.B. sog. Phase-II-Studien, folgen einem strengen Protokoll und beinhalten auch Patient:innen, die mit einem Placebo behandelt werden, um Scheineffekte zu untersuchen. Phase-II-Studien umfassen zudem eine größere Anzahl von Patient:innen und bewerten die Wirksamkeit der Behandlung sowie mögliche Nebenwirkungen gemäß einem für alle Patient:innen einheitlichen Vorgehen.

Teil 3: Mit welchen medizinischen Themenbereichen befasst sich die ME/CFS-Forschung? (veröffentlicht 09.04.2024)

Ergänzend zur Verteilung der Projekte auf die Forschungstypen (research types), also Grundlagen-, epidemiologische und klinische Forschung (vgl. Teil 2 oben), werden alle Projekte im ME/CFS Research Register auch nach Forschungsbereichen (research areas) differenziert. Forschungsbereiche umfassen Organe, Körpersysteme und Gesundheitsfaktoren, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Auftreten von ME/CFS erforscht werden. Diese Zuordnung erlaubt die gezielte Suche von Forschungsprojekten im ME/CFS Research Register nach thematischen Schwerpunkten (z. B. „autoimmunity“ oder „nervous system disorder”). Dabei ist zu beachten, dass Projekte i.d.R. mehreren Forschungsbereichen zugeordnet sind, wodurch sich eine Mehrfachzählung in der u.a. Auswertung ergibt (die Summe der Projekte in den Forschungsbereichen in der Abbildung ist deshalb höher als die 61 bisher im Register aufgeführten Forschungsprojekte).

Der Forschungsbereich Allgemein (general) ist mit 25 Projekten am häufigsten vertreten. „General“ wird als Begriff vergeben, wenn sich die Forschungsarbeit nicht auf bestimmte Körper- oder Organsysteme beschränkt. Darunter fallen u.a. Projekte, die sich mit der Versorgung von Patient:innen (patient care), Biobanking (biobank), allgemeinen Risikofaktoren (risk factors) oder Untersuchungen von Proteom (proteomics) und Transkriptom (transcriptomics) befassen. Vor allem Projekte aus der epidemiologischen Forschung sind „general“ zugeordnet (17 Projekte), neben Projekten aus der klinischen Forschung (3) und Grundlagenforschung (5). Wie oben beschrieben können einzelne Projekte gleichzeitig auch noch weiteren Forschungsbereichen zugeordnet sein.

Neben Allgemein („general“) gehören die Forschungsbereiche immunologische Dysfunktion (immunological dysfunction) (17 Projekte, davon 11 in der Grundlagen- und 6 in klinischer Forschung) und kardiovaskuläre Dysfunktion (cardiovascular dysfunction) (14 Projekte) zu den in Deutschland und Österreich bisher am häufigsten untersuchten Bereichen in der ME/CFS-Forschung. 

Forschungsprojekte befassen sich bisher außerdem mit der Rolle von Infektionen (infections), dem Einfluss eines gestörten Ernährungs- und Stoffwechselsystems (nutritional and metabolic system disorder) sowie Störungen des Nervensystems (nervous system disorder). Weniger Projekte befassen sich bisher mit Störungen des Blut- und Lymphsystem (hemic and lymphatic system disorder), der psychischen Gesundheit (mental health), einem gestörten Bewegungsapparat (musculoskeletal system disorder) oder genetischen Risikofaktoren (genetic risk factors) bei ME/CFS.

Im ME/CFS Research Register sind bisher 82 medizinische Forschungsbereiche gelistet. Die im Register verwendeten Begriffe wurden in Anlehnung an die MeSH-Terminologie (Medical Subject Headings) des National Institutes of Health (NIH) sowie basierend auf ausgewählter Literatur erstellt. Für jeden der zugeordneten Begriffe der Forschungsbereiche ist eine Kurzbeschreibung mit einem Verweis zur jeweiligen Quelle aufgeführt. Eine umfassende und systematische Übersicht der im ME/CFS Research Register verwendeten Forschungsbereiche und deren Zuordnung bzw. Hierarchie untereinander wird zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt veröffentlicht.


Teil 4: Wann ist mit Ergebnissen der Therapie- und Phase-II-Studien zu rechnen?  (veröffentlicht 16.04.2024)

Die Erforschung möglicher Behandlungsansätze, die auf die ME/CFS zugrunde liegenden Krankheitsmechanismen abzielen, ist von entscheidender Bedeutung für die langfristige Verbesserung der Versorgungssituation der Patient:innen. Bislang liegen nur sehr wenige Daten aus der Forschung in Form klinischer Studien zur Therapie von ME/CFS vor. Im Zuge des Auftretens von Long COVID bzw. Post-COVID-Syndrom wurden seit 2022 mehr finanzielle Mittel aus öffentlicher Hand zur Verfügung gestellt, um so auch das Wissen über mögliche Behandlungsansätze für ME/CFS zu erweitern.

Wie im obigen Teil 2 erläutert, werden in Deutschland derzeit neun klinische Studien zur Erprobung biomedizinischer Behandlungsansätze für ME/CFS umgesetzt. Fünf davon sind sog. Therapie-Studien. Weitere vier Studien sind sog. Phase-II-Studien, von denen drei im Rahmen des Forschungsverbundes Nationale Klinische Studiengruppe (NKSG) und eine als Teil des Forschungsverbundes COVID-19 Forschungsnetzwerk Niedersachsen (COFONI) durchgeführt werden. Die Ergebnisse dieser Studien werden ab Ende 2024 und überwiegend im Laufe des Jahres 2025 erwartet (siehe Abbildung).

Gegen Ende 2024 ist mit Ergebnissen der Phase-II-Studie zu Vericiguat (1: VERI-LONG) zu rechnen. Anfang 2025 folgen die Ergebnisse der Therapie-Studien zur wiederholten Immunadsorption (2: RIA) und zur transkraniellen Gleichstromstimulation (3: ACTIVATE), sowie die Ergebnisse der Phase-II-Studien zur Immunadsorption (4: IA-PACS-CFS) und zu Methylprednisolon (5: PoCoVIT). Mitte 2025 stehen die Ergebnisse einer weiteren Phase-II-Studie zur Immunadsorption (6: EXTINCT post COVID) an. Ende 2025 folgen Ergebnisse der Therapiestudien zur Hyperbaren Sauerstofftherapie (7: HBOT) und zur Immunadsorption mit jungen Patient:innen (8: BIAKI). Für die Therapiestudie zu BC007 (9: unCOVer) liegen noch keine Informationen zum geplanten Abschlussdatum vor. Anmerkung: diese geplanten Abschlusstermine sind als grobe Orientierung zu verstehen. Aus verschiedenen Gründen können die tatsächlichen Abschlusstermine von diesen Daten abweichen.

Bis Ende 2025 werden so voraussichtlich erste Daten zur Wirksamkeit von fünf potentiellen Therapien für ME/CFS vorliegen, darunter Ergebnisse aus drei Phase-II-Studien (randomisiert, placebo-kontrolliert). Um prüfen zu können, wie umfangreich und nachhaltig die untersuchten Verfahren und Medikamente ME/CFS-Betroffenen potenziell helfen können, bedarf es weiterer kontrollierter klinischer Studien mit einer größeren Anzahl von Proband:innen (Phase-II bis –III-Studien). Bei den klinischen Studien zur Therapieentwicklung, die im Rahmen der NKSG durchgeführt werden, sind aufgrund umfassender begleitender Diagnostik- und Biomarker-Studien zudem weiterführende Erkenntnisse zu erwarten. 


Wie geht es weiter?

In den noch folgenden Teilen des ME/CFS Forschungs-Update werden wir u.a. auf folgende Fragen eingehen:

  • Wie viele Arbeitsgruppen gibt es in der ME/CFS Forschung in Deutschland und Österreich? 
  • Wie sind die Arbeitsgruppen der ME/CFS Forschung untereinander vernetzt?
  • Wie viel wurde und wird zu ME/CFS in Deutschland und Österreich publiziert?

Die Daten zu diesen Fragen werden auf Basis des ME/CFS Research Register in den nächsten Wochen veröffentlicht.


Wie kann man die Arbeit der ME/CFS Research Foundation unterstützen?

Vor uns liegt noch ein weiter Weg bis Diagnose, Versorgung und Therapie von ME/CFS Betroffenen eines Tages medizinischer und sozialer Standard werden. Wir als ME/CFS Research Foundation fokussieren uns auf die biomedizinische Forschung, in der wir das Schlüsselelement zur Lösung dieser Probleme sehen (mehr dazu in unserer Förderstrategie). Dafür brauchen wir umfassende Unterstützung von privaten Spendenden – Betroffene, Angehörige, Familien, Freunde, Vereine, Schulen, Netzwerke, Unternehmen, Initiativen, Veranstaltende und alle Unterstützenden. Und wer nicht direkt fördern kann, kann unsere Story teilen und so andere motivieren zu helfen. Denn nur gemeinsam ist so ein Kraftakt möglich.

Wir überführen Spenden und sonstige Unterstützung vollständig in wissenschaftlich exzellente Forschung, Vernetzung und schließlich sichtbare Erfolge, d.h. bessere Diagnostik und Therapien. Dabei arbeiten wir mit anderen Organisationen und Initiativen gerne zusammen – kommen Sie auf uns zu! 

Wir freuen uns über jede Unterstützung!

Registrieren Sie sich auch für unseren Newsletter:

Und bitte vergrössern Sie unsere Reichweite und folgen uns:

Weitere Artikel

de_DEGerman