We want to establish effective ME/CFS research - with your help

ME/CFS Research Foundation will foster and finance biomedical research into the diseases ME/CFS (Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome) and Long COVID. Please support our work in this important area with your donation!

ME/CFS occurs after infections, including COVID-19 ("Long COVID"). It is the last, major disease that has unfortunately hardly been researched so far. Even before the pandemic, there were over 300,000 people affected, including 40,000 children and adolescents in Germany (over 17 million affected worldwide). In addition, there is a rapidly growing number of Long COVID patients. Due to the pandemic, the number of ME/CFS cases is expected to double. 

ME/CFS patients suffer from this severe, physical disease, 60% are unable to work. Until now, there has been hardly any public research funding in Germany and also Europe for this disease. Hence so far only few researchers have been working on this disease, which has been known for more than 50 years...

Our Objectives

We demand and promote effective research into ME/CFS - with your support?! The problem: ME/CFS patients have so far been medically and socially neglected to a very large extent. Yet ME/CFS is a common, complex medical problem whose relevance is currently increasing strongly due to "Long COVID".

Biomedical research will create the basis for more medical knowledge and teaching on this subject. Hence recognition, diagnosis, treatment and hopefully one day a causal therapy for this terrible disease may follow. This may enable ME/CFS patients that are missing out on their lives today to become active again – in their jobs, schools and families.

Diagnostics

Currently, there are no specific biomarkers, so ME/CFS is often diagnosed by medical doctors too late, incorrectly or not at all. Many patients suffer badly from these diagnostic mistakes.

Recognition

Patients are often psychosomatised for "lack of a better diagnosis". Although the "psychosomatic thesis" has been scientifically disproved long ago, this realisation has not yet sufficiently reached the practices.

Research

ME/CFS has not been researched sufficiently to-date, particularly if compared to other common diseases. But research needs to happen in order to improve understanding of this terrible disease.

Spenden!

Currently there is a lack of money for biomedical research. We want to change that with your help! With these funds, we will initiate important research projects that may later be leveraged even further with public funding.

DONATE NOW

Your donation helps

Your donation will directly and 100% support the biomedical research of ME/CFS. An international scientific/medical advisory board (currently being established) will ensure the effective use of our funds.

About us

Who we are

For lack of ME/CFS research so far, there is a lack of medical knowledge, recognition of the disease, education/training, diagnosis, therapy, and finally care for ME/CFS patients. We want to address this problem and invest in the expansion of ME/CFS research. That is why we established the ME/CFS Research Foundation in 2022.

We are (still) a small team of patients, relatives, friends, and committed supporters. We are looking forward to financial and active support of any kind to expand our work!

Researchers

Are you a doctor, biologist or other scientist who would like to actively support us? Get in touch now!

Media & politics

Are you a journalist, politician or would you like to support us in communications? Get in touch now!

Supporters

Are you a patient, family member or other supporter and would like to support us? Then please donate and inform your network!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

How can you contribute?

Building and funding biomedical research requires a lot of support. For example, we are working on establishing a network of researchers, building up fundraising, working with the major patient organisations and constantly looking for new ideas and, above all, people who can implement them responsibly and effectively. 

If you want to and can support us - we'd love to hear from you!  ... and please feel free to pass the word on!

en_GBEnglish

Wir wollen eine effektive ME/CFS Forschung etablieren – mit Ihrer Hilfe

Die ME/CFS Research Foundation macht sich ab sofort stark für die Erforschung der Krankheiten ME/CFS (Myalgische Enzephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome) und Long COVID. Bitte unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit in diesem wichtigen Bereich mit Ihrer Spende!

ME/CFS tritt nach Infektionen auf, darunter auch COVID-19 („Long COVID“). Es ist die letzte, große, bisher leider kaum erforschte Krankheit. Schon vor der Pandemie gab es über 300.000 Betroffene, darunter 40.000 Kinder und Jugendliche in Deutschland (über 17 Mio. Betroffene weltweit). Hinzu kommt die schnell wachsende Zahl an Long COVID Patient:innen. Es wird pandemiebedingt mit einer Verdoppelung der Fallzahlen von ME/CFS gerechnet. 

Betroffene leiden an dieser schweren, körperlichen Krankheit, 60% sind berufsunfähig. Bisher gab es hierfür kaum öffentliche Forschungsgelder. Und entsprechend wenige Forscher:innen beschäftigen sich mit dieser seit 50 Jahren bekannten Krankheit.

Unsere Zielsetzung

Wir fordern und fördern die effektive Erforschung von ME/CFS – mit Ihrer Unterstützung?! Das Problem: ME/CFS Patient:innen werden bisher medizinisch und sozial vernachlässigt. Dabei ist ME/CFS ein häufiges, komplexes, medizinisches Problem, dessen Relevanz durch „Long COVID“ aktuell stark zunimmt.

Biomedizinische Forschung schafft die Grundlagen für Wissen und Lehre und damit Anerkennung, Diagnose, Behandlung und eines Tages hoffentlich auch einer ursächlichen Therapie dieser schrecklichen Krankheit. Damit die Betroffenen wieder in Job, Schule und ihren Familien aktiv werden können.

Diagnose

Derzeit gibt es keinen spezifischen Biomarker, daher wird ME/CFS häufig zu spät, falsch oder gar nicht diagnostiziert.

Anerkennung

Aus „Verlegenheit“ werden Patienten oft psychosomatisiert. Obwohl medizinisch längst widerlegt, ist diese Erkenntnis noch nicht hinreichend in den Praxen angekommen.

Forschung

ME/CFS wird viel zu wenig erforscht, auch im Vergleich zu anderen häufigen Krankheiten. Doch Forschung ist der erste Schritt zur Aufklärung.

Spenden!

Aktuell fehlt es an Geld für die Forschung. Das wollen wir mit Ihrer Hilfe ändern! Damit werden wir wichtige Projekte anschieben, die später öffentlich verstärkt werden können.

JETZT SPENDEN

Ihre Spende hilft

Mit Ihrer Spende fördern Sie direkt und zu 100% die biomedizinische Erforschung von ME/CFS. Ein international besetzter wissenschaftlich/medizinischer Beirat (im Aufbau) wird die effektive Verwendung der Gelder sicherstellen.

Über uns

Wer wir sind

Durch die bisher unzureichende Forschung fehlt es an medizinischem Wissen, Anerkennung, Aus-/Fortbildung, Diagnose, Therapie, und schliesslich Versorgung von ME/CFS Patienten. Wir wollen dieses Problem angehen und in den Ausbau von Forschung investieren. Deshalb haben wir 2022 die ME/CFS Research Foundation gegründet.

Wir sind (noch) ein kleines Team von Betroffenen, Angehörigen sowie engagierten Förder:innen. Für den Ausbau unserer Arbeit freuen wir uns über finanzielle, aber auch tatkräftige Unterstützung jeder Art!

Wissenschaftler

Sie sind Mediziner:in, Biolog:in oder sonstige Wissenschaftler:in und möchten uns aktiv unterstützen? Nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt auf!

Medien & Politik

Sie sind Journalist:in, Politiker:in oder können uns kommunikativ unterstützen? Nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt auf!

Förderer

Sie sind Patient:in, Angehöriger, oder sonstiger Förderer und möchten uns unterstützen? Dann spenden Sie bitte und informieren Ihr Netzwerk!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Wie können Sie mitwirken?

Aufbau und Finanzierung biomedizinischer Forschung erfordert viel Unterstützung. Zum Beispiel etablieren wir ein Netzwerk an Forscher:innen, bauen das Fundraising auf, arbeiten mit den großen Patientenorganisationen zusammen und suchen ständig neue Ideen und v.a. Menschen die diese verantwortlich und effektiv umsetzen. 

Wenn Sie uns unterstützen wollen und können – herzlich gerne!  … und gerne auch Weitersagen!

de_DEGerman