German patient organizations publish recommendations for research and care for ME/CFS and post-COVID-Syndrome

Patient organisations German Association for ME/CFS (Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS) and Long COVID Germany publish a new guide for research, care, education and rehabilitation for ME/CFS and Post-COVID-Syndrome. The ME/CFS Research Foundation supports the priorities and criteria mentioned therein. These are recommended for an effective expansionof biomedical research into these diseases.

Berlin/Hamburg, 22 February 2023 - ME/CFS and Post-COVID-Syndrome currently present the greatest challenge in coping with the long-term consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic. ME/CFS, which also occurs after other infectious diseases, and Post-COVID-Syndrome in its various forms have not yet been adequately researched and cannot be causally treated. It is still unclear how often ME/CFS occurs after a SARS-CoV-2 infection, for a lack of population-representative studies on this subject to-date. Even before COVID-19, there were about 250,000 ME/CFS patients in Germany. This number is expected to double as a result of the ongoing pandemic.

Based on the current state of scientific and medical knowledge, the guideline describes focal points for biomedical basic, therapeutic and diagnostic research as well as for care, rehabilitation and education that need to be taken into account from the perspective of patient organisations. The document is aimed at politicians, the health care system and medical research in Germany. The guideline is intended to serve as an orientation for the creation of targeted funding guidelines at the level of state governments and within ongoing research and care projects as well as for the operation of specialised outpatient clinics.

Daniel Hattesohl, Chairman of the German ME/CFS Society, emphasises: "In the wake of the corona pandemic, there is a unique window of opportunity to conduct targeted research into ME/CFS and other post-infectious diseases and to develop causal therapies. In addition to similarities in the development of the diseases, there are also numerous overlaps in the care of ME/CFS and post-COVID-Syndrome sufferers. ME/CFS occurs after many infections, now also after COVID-19. The care of Post-COVID-Syndrome and ME/CFS must therefore be thought about and implemented together. Our guideline provides concrete starting points for this," Hattesohl continues.

The new guide covers the following topics:

Dr Claudia Ellert, spokesperson for patient organisation Long COVID Germany, points to the high funding needs for medical care. "Care is still inadequate in many places. There is a lack of staff and financial support. There is still no adequate remuneration for the high diagnostic and therapeutic effort in ME/CFS and Post-COVID-Syndrome." Furthermore, knowledge about the professional handling of post-infectious diseases urgently needs to be introduced in all relevant care institutions. "We need nationwide information campaigns. Starting with the health care system, to cost units, rehabilitation clinics and school and social welfare offices. Our guideline formulates clear requirements for action in this regard."

Joerg Heydecke, MD of the ME/CFS Research Foundation comments: "The coalition treaty of the Federal Government as of November 2021 pledged the setup of significant research and treatment resources for ME/CFS and Post-COVID-Syndrome. In February 2022, the patient organisations submitted an action plan for implementing these coalition goals to the federal government. These new guidelines further substantiate the recommendations for research and care in ME/CFS and PCS and specifically addresses the governments and responsible ministries of the federal states. All necessary preconditions for implementation in this area are thus also available to the state governments in a scientifically sound form. The task now is to expand projects already underway to include ME/CFS and to provide additional, necessary funding effectively and sustainably. In addition to the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) for basic research and the Federal Ministry of Health (BMG) for health care research, the governments of the federal states are also called upon to promote the expansion of urgently needed biomedical research on ME/CFS. Comprehensive research into these diseases is urgently needed from a medical, social and economic point of view.

Our BIG THANK YOU for this important piece of work goes to the German Association for ME/CFS (Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS) and Long COVID Germany! The ME/CFS Research Foundation supports this new guideline. We will continue to shape and implement our commitment to biomedical research in ME/CFS and long/post-COVID in line with these recommendations".

Recommendations of the guideline towards RESEARCH:

Regarding Basic Research the guideline names and substantiates six concrete research approaches for parallel research into post-infectious disease patterns. These are particularly relevant in the context of newly established biomedical funding guidelines and should be prioritised in the allocation of public funds. The recommendations are based on current scientific findings, which are also substantiated in the guideline.

For research into therapies and diagnostics currently ongoing and planned research projects in Germany are described therein. For example, the National Clinical Study Group ME/CFS and Post-COVID-Syndrome (NKSG CFS/PCS) and its connection to the National Pandemic Cohort Network (NAPKON) are explained. The research projects at the University Hospital Erlangen or the joint project IMMME (IMune Mechanisms of ME) are mentioned including their objectives. Recommendations include the establishment of further research centres in close scientific connection to these initiatives. The study protocols, diagnostic procedures and biomarker and diagnostic platforms established by the NKSG CFS/PCS study group should also be used by future research projects.

As a Framework conditions for research funding the document outlines specific criteria for the selection of research projects to be funded. These include existing biomedical research experience on ME/CFS and/or Post-COVID-Syndrome, local/regional access to existing ME/CFS and/or Post-COVID-Syndrome patient cohorts and secure access to Post-COVID-Syndrome biodata, e.g. via NUM/NAPKON and/or the German ME/CFS biodatabase. Furthermore, national and international standards and measures for quality assurance of the planned research projects are recommended for the allocation of funds (WMA Declaration of Helsinki, etc.). Additional disease-specific criteria are specified and their consideration is recommended.

Detailed requirements and recommendations are also defined and explained for the areas of care, education and rehabilitation.


The new guideline is being supported by ME/CFS Research Foundation and Lost Voices Foundation (Lost Voices Stiftung) , as well as patient organisations Fatigatio e.V. - Federal Association ME/CFS and POTS und andere Dysautonomien e.V.

Download the guide (German version only - English version to be provided as soon as possible): www.longcoviddeutschland.org/leitfaden


Furthermore, new educational videos provided by German Association for ME/CFS (Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS) and Long Covid Germany (Long Covid Deutschland) outline valuable explanations and recommendations to players within the health and social care system, as well as patients and their relatives. The videos explain the typical deterioration of patient’s available energy after physical or cognitive stress (post-exertional malaise, PEM for short) and the correct handling of individual stress limits ("pacing").

Educational videos on Youtube (German language only): www.youtube.com/@mecfsundlongcoviderklaert


About the organisations involved and/or mentioned in the guidelines:

The German Society for ME/CFS (Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS e.V.) is an organisation founded in 2016 to advocate for the rights and needs of ME/CFS patients. To this end, it combines the important expertise of patients and relatives with the expertise of an experienced medical advisory board.
Homepage: www.mecfs.de/

Long COVID Germany is a private and voluntary association of Long COVID patients and their relatives. As an initiative, LCD advocates for education, care and research into the long-term effects of COVID-19. Since May 2020, Long Covid Germany has been running an online support group. www.longcoviddeutschland.org/

The ME/CFS Research Foundation was founded in 2022 to initiate and fund biomedical research on ME/CFS. The focus of the foundation is on funding basic and therapeutic/drug research. http://www.mecfs-research.org/

Der Fatigatio e.V. - Federal Association ME/CFS has been supporting its members in German-speaking countries on a voluntary basis since 1993 as the largest ME/CFS patient organisation. Self-help work, the commitment to care, research and education as well as a strong international network form the basis of the Federal ME/CFS Association. www.fatigatio.de/

The Lost Voices Foundation (Lost Voices Stiftung) represents the interests of ME/CFS patients in Germany. With a scholarship programme, it makes an important contribution to the ongoing underfunded research on ME/CFS in Germany. www.lost-voices-stiftung.org/

POTS und andere Dysautonomien e.V. started work in 2017 with the support of its medical advisory board to provide information about dysautonomias, especially POTS (postural tachycardia syndrome), and to accompany, promote and improve the situation of those affected, regardless of the cause. http://www.pots-dysautonomia.net/


How can you support the work of the ME/CFS Research Foundation?

There is still a long way to go before diagnosis, care and treatment of ME/CFS patients will one day become a medical and social standard. We at the ME/CFS Research Foundation are focussing on biomedical research, which we see as the key element in solving these problems (more on this in our research funding strategy). To do this, we need extensive support from private donors - patients, relatives, families, friends, associations, schools, networks, companies, initiatives, event organisers and all supporters. And if you can't support us directly, maybe you can share our story and motivate others to help. Because only together is such a feat possible.

We fully translate donations and other support into scientifically excellent research, networking and ultimately visible successes, i.e. better ME/CFS diagnostics and therapies. We are happy to work together with other organisations and initiatives - please contact us! 

We appreciate all kinds of Support!

Please register for our Newsletter:

And please extend our reach and follow us on:

More articles

en_GBEnglish

Leitfaden zur Erforschung und Versorgung von ME/CFS und Post-COVID-Syndrom veröffentlicht

Die Patient*innenorganisationen Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS und Long COVID Deutschland veröffentlichen einen neuen Leitfaden für Massnahmen zur Erforschung, Versorgung, Aufklärung und Rehabilitation für ME/CFS und das Post-COVID-Syndrom. Die ME/CFS Research Foundation unterstützt die darin genannten Schwerpunkte und Kriterien. Diese werden für einen effektiven Ausbau der biomedizinischen Forschung empfohlen.

Berlin/Hamburg, 22.02.2023 – ME/CFS und das Post-COVID-Syndrom stellen aktuell die größte Herausforderung bei der Bewältigung der Langzeitfolgen der COVID-19 Pandemie dar. ME/CFS, das auch nach anderen Infektionserkrankungen auftritt, und das Post-COVID- Syndrom in seinen unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen sind bisher weder ausreichend erforscht noch ursächlich behandelbar. Wie häufig ME/CFS nach einer SARS-CoV-2-Infektion insgesamt auftritt, ist noch unklar. Hierzu fehlen bisher bevölkerungsrepräsentative Studien. Bereits vor COVID-19 gab es rund 250.000 ME/CFS-Erkrankte in Deutschland. Aktuell wird mit einer Verdopplung dieser Zahl infolge der fortlaufenden Pandemie gerechnet.

Basierend auf dem aktuellen wissenschaftlichen und medizinischen Kenntnisstand werden in dem Leitfaden Schwerpunkte für die biomedizinische Grundlagen-, Therapie- und Diagnostikforschung sowie für die Versorgung, Rehabilitation und Aufklärung beschrieben, die es aus Sicht der Patient*innenorganisationen zu berücksichtigen gilt. Das Dokument richtet sich an die Politik, an das Gesundheitswesen und an die medizinische Forschung in Deutschland. Der Leitfaden soll als inhaltliche Orientierung für die Schaffung gezielter Förderrichtlinien auf Ebene von Landesregierungen und innerhalb laufender Forschungs- und Versorgungsvorhaben sowie für den Betrieb von spezialisierten Ambulanzen dienen.

Anlässlich der Veröffentlichung betont Daniel Hattesohl, Vorsitzender der Deutschen Gesellschaft für ME/CFS: „Im Zuge der Corona-Pandemie ergibt sich ein einzigartiges Zeitfenster, um ME/CFS und andere postinfektiöse Erkrankungen gezielt zu erforschen und ursächliche Therapien zu entwickeln. Neben Gemeinsamkeiten in der Entstehung der Erkrankungen, ergeben sich auch bei der Versorgung zahlreiche Überlappungen bei den ME/CFS- und Post-COVID-Syndrom-Erkrankten. ME/CFS tritt nach vielen Infektionen auf, jetzt auch nach COVID-19. Die Versorgung von Post-COVID-Syndrom und ME/CFS muss daher zusammen gedacht und umgesetzt werden. Hierfür liefert unser Leitfaden konkrete Ansatzpunkte“, so Hattesohl weiter.

Der neue Leitfaden umfasst folgende Themen:

Dr. Claudia Ellert, Sprecherin von Long COVID Deutschland, weist auf den hohen Finanzierungsbedarf bei der medizinische Versorgung hin. „Die Versorgung ist vielerorts weiterhin unzureichend. Es fehlt an Personal und finanzieller Unterstützung. Für den hohen diagnostischen und therapeutischen Aufwand bei ME/CFS und Post-COVID-Syndrom gibt es bisher keine angemessene Vergütung“. Das Wissen über den fachgerechten Umgang mit post-infektiöse Erkrankungen müsse zudem dringend Einzug bei allen relevanten Versorgungsinstanzen halten. „Wir benötigen flächendeckende Aufklärungskampagnen. Angefangen vom Gesundheitswesen, über Kostenträger, Reha-Kliniken bis hin zu Schul- und Sozialämtern. Unser Leitfaden formuliert dahingehend klare Handlungsaufforderungen.“

Jörg Heydecke, Geschäftsführer der ME/CFS Research Foundation kommentiert: „Im Koalitionsvertrag der Bundesregierung wurde im November 2021 die Erforschung von ME/CFS und Post-COVID-Syndrom zugesagt. Im Februar 2022 haben die Patient*innenorganisationen der Bundesregierung einen Aktionsplan für die Umsetzung dieser Koalitionsziele vorgeschlagen. Der nun vorliegende Leitfaden konkretisiert die Empfehlungen für Forschung und Versorgung weiter und richtet sich gezielt an die Regierungen und zuständigen Ministerien der Bundesländer. Die wichtigsten inhaltlichen Rahmenbedingungen zur Umsetzung in diesem Bereich liegen damit auch den Landesregierungen wissenschaftlich fundiert vor. Jetzt gilt es bereits laufende Projekte um ME/CFS zu erweitern und zusätzliche, erforderliche Fördermittel effektiv und nachhaltig bereit zu stellen. Neben dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) für die Grundlagenforschung und dem Bundesgesundheitsministerium (BMG) für die Versorgungsforschung, sind auch die Regierungen der Bundesländer aufgefordert, den Ausbau der dringend notwendigen biomedizinischen Forschung zu ME/CFS voranzutreiben. Die umfassende Erforschung dieser Krankheiten ist sowohl medizinisch, sozial, als auch ökonomisch dringend geboten.

Unser GROSSER DANK für diese wichtige Arbeit geht an die Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS und Long COVID Deutschland! Die ME/CFS Research Foundation unterstützt den neuen Leitfaden. Wir werden unser Engagement für die biomedizinische Erforschung von ME/CFS und Long- bzw. Post-COVID entsprechend dieser Empfehlungen weiter ausgestalten und umsetzen“.

Konkrete Empfehlungen des Leitfadens im Bereich Forschung:

Im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung benennt und belegt der Leitfaden sechs konkrete Forschungsansätze zur parallelen Erforschung postinfektiöser Krankheitsbilder. Diese sind im Rahmen neu einzurichtender biomedizinischer Förderrichtlinien besonders relevant und sollten bei der Vergabe öffentlicher Mittel priorisiert werden. Die Empfehlungen basieren auf aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen, die im Leitfaden ebenfalls belegt sind.

Für den Bereich der Therapie- und Diagnostikforschung werden aktuell laufende und geplante Forschungsvorhaben in Deutschland beschrieben. Z.B. wird die Nationale Klinische Studiengruppe ME/CFS und Post-COVID-Syndrom (NKSG CFS/PCS) und deren Anbindung an das Nationale Pandemie Kohorten Netz (NAPKON) erläutert. Die Forschungsvorhaben am Universitätsklinikum Erlangen oder das Verbundvorhaben IMMME (IMune Mechanisms of ME) werden inkl. ihrer Zielsetzungen erwähnt. Zu den Empfehlungen zählt der Aufbau weiterer Forschungszentren in enger wissenschaftlicher Anbindung an diese Initiativen. Die von der Studiengruppe NKSG CFS/PCS bisher etablierten Studienprotokolle, diagnostischen Procedere und Biomarker- und Diagnostikplattformen sollten auch von zukünftigen Forschungsvorhaben genutzt werden.

Als Rahmenbedingungen der Forschungsförderung werden konkrete Kriterien für die Auswahl zu fördernder Forschungsvorhaben genannt. Dazu zählen bestehende biomedizinische Forschungserfahrung zu ME/CFS und/oder Post-COVID-Syndrom, lokaler/regionaler Zugriff auf bestehende ME/CFS- und/oder Post-COVID-Patient*innenkohorten und der gesicherte Zugang zu Post-COVID-Biodaten, z.B. über NUM/NAPKON und/oder die ME/CFS-Biodatenbank. Ferner werden für die Mittelvergabe nationale und internationale Standards und Maßnahmen zur Qualitätssicherung der geplanten Forschungsvorhaben empfohlen (WMA Deklaration von Helsinki u.a.). Weitere konkrete, krankheitsspezifische Kriterien werden ausgeführt und deren Berücksichtigung empfohlen.

Detaillierte Anforderungen und Empfehlungen werden auch für die Bereiche Versorgung, Aufklärung und Rehabilitation definiert und erläutert.


Der neue Leitfaden wird unterstützt von der ME/CFS Research Foundation und der Lost Voices Stiftung sowie von den Patient:innenorganisationen Fatigatio e.V. – Bundesverband ME/CFS und POTS und andere Dysautonomien e.V.

Leitfaden zum Download: www.longcoviddeutschland.org/leitfaden


Mit neuen Aufklärungsvideos richten sich die Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS und Long Covid Deutschland außerdem an das Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen, Erkrankte und deren Angehörige. Die Videos erläutern ​​die für die Erkrankungen typische Zustandsverschlechterung nach körperlicher oder kognitiver Belastung (Post-Exertionelle Malaise, kurz PEM) und den richtigen Umgang mit individuellen Belastungsgrenzen („Pacing“).

Aufklärungsvideos auf Youtube: www.youtube.com/@mecfsundlongcoviderklaert


Über die am Leitfaden beteiligten Organisationen:

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS e.V. ist eine 2016 gegründete Organisation, die für die Rechte und Bedürfnisse von ME/CFS-Kranken eintritt. Dafür verbindet sie die wichtige Expertise von Erkrankten und Angehörigen mit der Expertise eines erfahrenen Ärztlichen Beirats.
Homepage: www.mecfs.de

Long COVID Deutschland ist ein privater und ehrenamtlicher Zusammenschluss von Long COVID-Erkrankten und deren Angehörigen. Als Initiative setzt sich LCD für die Aufklärung, Versorgung und Erforschung der Langzeitfolgen von COVID-19 ein. Seit Mai 2020 betreibt Long Covid Deutschland eine Online-Selbsthilfegruppe. Homepage. www.longcoviddeutschland.org

Die ME/CFS Research Foundation wurde 2022 gegründet, um den Auf- und Ausbau von biomedizinischer Diagnostik- und Therapieforschung zu ME/CFS anzustoßen und durch private Fördermittel zu finanzieren. Im Fokus der Stiftung liegt die Förderung von Grundlagen- und Therapie/ Medikamentenforschung. Homepage: www.mecfs-research.org

Der Fatigatio e.V. – Bundesverband ME/CFS unterstützt seit 1993 ehrenamtlich als größte ME/CFS- Patientenorganisation seine Mitglieder im deutschsprachigen Raum. Selbsthilfearbeit, der Einsatz für Versorgung, Forschung und Aufklärung sowie ein starkes internationales Netzwerk bilden die Basis des Bundesverbandes ME/CFS. Homepage: www.fatigatio.de

Die Lost Voices Stiftung vertritt die Interessen von ME/CFS-Betroffenen in Deutschland. Mit einem Stipendienprogramm leistet sie einen wichtigen Beitrag für die andauernde unterfinanzierte Forschung zu ME/CFS in Deutschland. Homepage: www.lost-voices-stiftung.org

POTS und andere Dysautonomien e.V. hat 2017 die Arbeit mit der Unterstützung seines medizinischen Beirats aufgenommen, um über Dysautonomien, insbesondere POTS (Posturales Tachykardiesyndrom), zu informieren und Betroffene, unabhängig von der Ursache, zu begleiten, zu fördern und ihre Situation zu verbessern. Homepage: www.pots-dysautonomia.net


Wie kann man die Arbeit der ME/CFS Research Foundation unterstützen?

Vor uns liegt noch ein weiter Weg bis Diagnose, Versorgung und Therapie von ME/CFS Betroffenen eines Tages medizinischer und sozialer Standard werden. Wir als ME/CFS Research Foundation fokussieren uns auf die biomedizinische Forschung, in der wir das Schlüsselelement zur Lösung dieser Probleme sehen (mehr dazu in unserer Förderstrategie). Dafür brauchen wir umfassende Unterstützung von privaten Spendenden – Betroffene, Angehörige, Familien, Freunde, Vereine, Schulen, Netzwerke, Unternehmen, Initiativen, Veranstaltende und alle Unterstützenden. Und wer nicht direkt fördern kann, kann unsere Story teilen und so andere motivieren zu helfen. Denn nur gemeinsam ist so ein Kraftakt möglich.

Wir überführen Spenden und sonstige Unterstützung vollständig in wissenschaftlich exzellente Forschung, Vernetzung und schließlich sichtbare Erfolge, d.h. bessere Diagnostik und Therapien. Dabei arbeiten wir mit anderen Organisationen und Initiativen gerne zusammen – kommen Sie auf uns zu! 

Wir freuen uns über jede Unterstützung!

Registrieren Sie sich auch für unseren Newsletter:

Und bitte vergrössern Sie unsere Reichweite und folgen uns:

Weitere Artikel

de_DEGerman