International Women's Club supports ME/CFS Research

ME/CFS research funding is this year's main charity theme of the IWC - International Women's Club in Frankfurt.

UPDATE 16. June 2023: The IWC presents a donation cheque for 15,310€ to the ME/CFS Research Foundation on the occasion of its annual "summer fest". A big thank you for this financial support of our work and the many good wishes goes out to the IWC members and friends!

"This great support helps us a lot and will hopefully also be taken up by other associations as a role model to support ME/CFS research through fundraising activities" said Joerg Heydecke on the occasion of the donation handover in Frankfurt.


This year's IWC "Donation Marathon" kick-off event took place in Frankfurt on 8 February 2023. Over 100 members of the total of over 400 women from 50 different nations organised in the association were present. In this year's fundraising campaign, the IWC aims to support ME/CFS research with a significant amount of money. 

Prof. Carmen Scheibenbogen, head of the Fatigue Centre at the Charité hospital in Berlin, was present by video. Jörg Heydecke (ME/CFS Research Foundation) was on site.

Prof. Scheibenbogen presented the clinical picture of ME/CFS from a medical point of view to the IWC members. She explained the current state of medical knowledge as well as ongoing projects in research. She emphasised that before the pandemic, about 300,000 patients had ME/CFS, including about 40,000 children. Due to the pandemic and the resulting post-COVID problem, one must assume at least a doubling of these case numbers. This means that more than 600,000 affected persons and their relatives in Germany are currently unable to find adequate diagnostic and care structures. Research structures have only recently received public funding in Germany. The desolate care and research picture is very similar in international comparison, although the disease ME/CFS was recognised as early as 1955 and has been classified by the WHO since the 1960s.

German politicians have meanwhile become aware of this disease and have "held out the prospect" of providing research funds for ME/CFS. However, there are still high bureaucratic hurdles to overcome before these funds flow. And even then, the funds announced so far will be far from sufficient. Often, public funding would also only be made available in conjunction with private third-party funding, of which there is also far too little to-date.

Prof. Scheibenbogen also outlined the current ME/CFS research projects, such as the IMMME (Immune Mechanisms in ME) collaborative research network or the clinical trials starting within the framework of the "National Clinical Study Group" (NKSG). These initiatives are first steps towards building more biomedical research and expertise.

Following Prof. Scheibenbogen's explanations, the ME/CFS Research Foundation was introduced to the IWC members by Jörg Heydecke. The focus was on the motivation and goals of the foundation, especially the initiation and funding of biomedical research on ME/CFS and post-COVID. Jörg Heydecke explained that the foundation sees itself as an initiator and "start-up financier" to promote new research structures and resources. In the medium term, ME/CFS research must be financed from public funds, analogous to research in other disciplines. However, there is often a lack of funding and support for the initial steps and initiatives in this field. The ME/CFS Research Foundation aims to offer this kind of support with the help of donations, such as those of the IWC.

The ladies organised in the IWC showed great interest in the topic of ME/CFS and the work of the ME/CFS Research Foundation. In the lively discussion, possible forms of support were discussed as well as concrete offers of help for affected patients. After this kick-off event, the IWC and its members will now collect donations for ME/CFS research at various levels and hand them over to the ME/CFS Research Foundation in June 2023.

We would like to thank the IWC / International Women's Club in Frankfurt in advance for this great commitment and look forward to further cooperation!

Following the event, a report on the IWC fundraising project was published in the German newspaper Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (F.A.Z.):
https://zeitung.faz.net/faz/rhein-main/2023-02-10/715c1d7393f2b1abcd6b7b0c15d6f027/?GEPC=s5

More information about the club can be found on the IWC website: https://www.iwc-frankfurt.de


How can you support the work of the ME/CFS Research Foundation?

There is still a long way to go before diagnosis, care and treatment of ME/CFS patients will one day become a medical and social standard. We at the ME/CFS Research Foundation are focussing on biomedical research, which we see as the key element in solving these problems (more on this in our research funding strategy). To do this, we need extensive support from private donors - patients, relatives, families, friends, associations, schools, networks, companies, initiatives, event organisers and all supporters. And if you can't support us directly, maybe you can share our story and motivate others to help. Because only together is such a feat possible.

We fully translate donations and other support into scientifically excellent research, networking and ultimately visible successes, i.e. better ME/CFS diagnostics and therapies. We are happy to work together with other organisations and initiatives - please contact us! 

We appreciate all kinds of Support!

Please register for our Newsletter:

And please extend our reach and follow us on:

More articles

en_GBEnglish

International Women’s Club in Frankfurt spendet für die ME/CFS Research Foundation

ME/CFS Forschungsfinanzierung ist das diesjährige Spendenthema des IWC – International Women’s Club in Frankfurt.

UPDATE 16. Juni 2023: der IWC überreicht einen Spendenscheck über 15.310€ an die ME/CFS Research Foundation, anlässlich des Sommerfestes. Wir bedanken uns herzlich für die finanzielle Unterstützung unserer Arbeit und die vielen guten Wünsche der IWC Mitglieder und Freunde!

„Diese großartige Unterstützung hilft uns sehr und wird hoffentlich auch von anderen Vereinen und Engagierten als Anregung aufgegriffen, die ME/CFS Forschung durch Spendenaktionen zu unterstützen“ sagte Joerg Heydecke anlässlich der Spendenübergabe in Frankfurt.


Am 8. Februar 2023 fand die diesjährige Auftaktveranstaltung des IWC „Spendenmarathon“ in Frankfurt statt. Anwesend waren über 100 Mitglieder, der insgesamt über 400 im Verein organisierten Frauen aus 50 verschiedenen Nationen. Der IWC strebt in seiner diesjährigen Spendenaktion an, die ME/CFS Forschung mit einem signifikanten Geldbetrag zu fördern. 

Prof. Carmen Scheibenbogen, Leiterin des Fatigue-Zentrums an der Berliner Charité, wurde per Video zugeschaltet. Jörg Heydecke (ME/CFS Research Foundation) war vor Ort.

Prof. Scheibenbogen stellte den anwesenden Mitgliedern des IWC das Krankheitsbild ME/CFS aus medizinischer Sicht vor und erläuterte den aktuellen Wissensstand sowie laufende Projekte in der Forschung. Sie betonte, dass bereits vor der Pandemie ca. 300.000 Patienten an ME/CFS erkrankt waren, davon ca. 40.000 Kinder. Durch die Pandemie und die dadurch entstehende Post-COVID Problematik müsse man mindestens von einer Verdopplung dieser Fallzahlen ausgehen. Das heisst über 600.000 Betroffene und ihre Angehörigen finden derzeit keine ausreichenden Diagnose- und Versorgungsstrukturen. Die Forschungsstrukturen werden in Deutschland erst seit kurzem öffentlich gefördert. Das desolate Versorgungs- und Forschungsbild findet sich so auch im internationalen Vergleich, obwohl die Krankheit ME/CFS bereits 1955 erkannt und seit den 1960er Jahren von der WHO klassifiziert ist.

Die deutsche Politik sei inzwischen auf diese Erkrankung aufmerksam geworden und hat die Bereitstellung von Forschungsmitteln zu ME/CFS „in Aussicht gestellt“. Bis diese Gelder fließen, sind jedoch noch hohe bürokratische Hürden zu überwinden. Und selbst dann werden die bisher angekündigten Mittel bei weitem nicht ausreichen. Häufig würden öffentliche Finanzierungen auch nur in Verbindung mit privaten Drittmitteln zur Verfügung gestellt, von denen es bisher ebenfalls viel zu wenig gibt.

Prof. Scheibenbogen skizzierte auch die aktuellen ME/CFS Forschungsprojekte, wie z.B. die IMMME Verbundforschung zu den Grundlagen der Erkrankung oder die im Rahmen der „Nationalen klinischen Studiengruppe“ (NKSG) beginnenden klinischen Studien. Diese Initiativen sind erste Schritte, um mehr biomedizinische Forschung und Expertise aufzubauen.

Nach den Erklärungen von Prof. Scheibenbogen wurde die ME/CFS Research Foundation den anwesenden IWC Mitgliedern von Jörg Heydecke vorgestellt. Dabei standen die Motivation und Ziele der Stiftung, v.a. die Initiierung und Finanzierung biomedizinischer Forschung zu ME/CFS und Post-COVID, im Vordergrund. Jörg Heydecke erläuterte, dass sich die Stiftung als Impulsgeber und „Anschubfinanzierer“ versteht um neue Forschungsstrukturen zu fördern. Mittelfristig müsse die ME/CFS Forschung, analog zur Forschung in anderen Fachbereichen aus öffentlichen Mitteln finanziert und nachhaltig ausgebaut werden. Oft fehlt es jedoch an Finanzierung und Unterstützung erster Schritte und Initiativen. Diese Förderung strebt die ME/CFS Research Foundation mit Hilfe von Spenden, wie z.B. die des IWC, an.

Die im IWC organisierten Damen zeigten für das Thema ME/CFS und die Arbeit der ME/CFS Research Foundation großes Interesse. In der regen Diskussion wurden mögliche Formen der Unterstützung ebenso diskutiert, wie konkrete Hilfsangebote für betroffene Patienten. Der IWC und seine Mitglieder werden nach dieser Kick-off Veranstaltung nun auf verschiedenen Ebenen Spenden für die ME/CFS Forschung sammeln und im Juni 2023 an die ME/CFS Research Foundation übergeben.

Wir bedanken und bereits im Voraus für dieses grossartige Engagement und freuen uns auf die weitere Zusammenarbeit mit dem IWC / International Women’s Club in Frankfurt!

Im Nachgang zur Veranstaltung ist ein Bericht über das IWC Spendenprojekt in der F.A.Z. erschienen:
https://zeitung.faz.net/faz/rhein-main/2023-02-10/715c1d7393f2b1abcd6b7b0c15d6f027/?GEPC=s5

Mehr Informationen zum Verein sind auf der Website des IWC zu finden: https://www.iwc-frankfurt.de


Wie kann man die Arbeit der ME/CFS Research Foundation unterstützen?

Vor uns liegt noch ein weiter Weg bis Diagnose, Versorgung und Therapie von ME/CFS Betroffenen eines Tages medizinischer und sozialer Standard werden. Wir als ME/CFS Research Foundation fokussieren uns auf die biomedizinische Forschung, in der wir das Schlüsselelement zur Lösung dieser Probleme sehen (mehr dazu in unserer Förderstrategie). Dafür brauchen wir umfassende Unterstützung von privaten Spendenden – Betroffene, Angehörige, Familien, Freunde, Vereine, Schulen, Netzwerke, Unternehmen, Initiativen, Veranstaltende und alle Unterstützenden. Und wer nicht direkt fördern kann, kann unsere Story teilen und so andere motivieren zu helfen. Denn nur gemeinsam ist so ein Kraftakt möglich.

Wir überführen Spenden und sonstige Unterstützung vollständig in wissenschaftlich exzellente Forschung, Vernetzung und schließlich sichtbare Erfolge, d.h. bessere Diagnostik und Therapien. Dabei arbeiten wir mit anderen Organisationen und Initiativen gerne zusammen – kommen Sie auf uns zu! 

Wir freuen uns über jede Unterstützung!

Registrieren Sie sich auch für unseren Newsletter:

Und bitte vergrössern Sie unsere Reichweite und folgen uns:

Weitere Artikel

de_DEGerman