Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently asked questions

Questions regarding donations

As of today, you may make a bank transfer or payment to our donations account We are working on offering other payment methods (e.g. SEPA debit, Paypal, ...). However, all other payment methods will incur costs of 2-4% of the donated amounts. Therefore, please donate today by bank transfer or payment.

Information on tax recognition, donation receipts, etc. can be found at our donations page

The ME/CFS Research Foundation has only low administrative costs, which are already covered by dedicated donations. This means we can guarantee that 100% of your donation will go towards funding biomedical research.

We strive to ensure that 100% of our research funding to universities and institutes benefits research (i.e. without flat-rate deductions for administration, etc.). Should this not be possible in individual cases, we would either prioritise other institutes or projects, or we would try to reach an appropriate agreement with the institutes concerned without deductions.

For the sake of completeness, however, we would like to point out that every research project involves a certain amount of administrative work (among other things, to fulfil mandatory regulatory requirements).

Yes, you can make a donation for a specific purpose. Please note the purpose of the donation in the subject line of the transfer, e.g. "Donation for Project XY at University Hospital XY" or send us an explanatory note. e-Mail. Currently, however, we can only support non-profit projects in Germany. Donations without earmarking are awarded according to our research quality criteria and the prioritisation of our scientific advisory board (under construction).

Questions regarding ME/CFS Research Foundation

Formally, we are non-profit limited liability company ("gGmbH" in German). This is a more flexible legal form for our purposes than the foundation under civil law. However, with regard to the purpose of our activities, our ability to make donations and our non-profit status, there are no significant differences to a foundation.  Many other so-called "foundations" in Germany are also formally not foundations under civil law.

As a gGmbH, the ME/CFS Research Foundation is formally owned by the founder and managing partner Jörg Heydecke. In addition, volunteers under the leadership of Martin Hippe (co-founder) fulfil various tasks for the society. An international scientific advisory board, which will advise on the use of funds, is currently being established. In addition, we work together with the major patient organisations in Germany that are active in the field of ME/CFS:

German Society for ME/CFS (Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS e.V.)
Fatigatio e.V. – Federal Association for ME/CFS (Fatigatio e.V. – Bundesverband ME/CFS) 
Long Covid Germany (Long Covid Deutschland)
Lost Voices Foundation (Lost Voices Stiftung)

Non-profit law and our statutes restrict the use of funds to the exclusively non-profit purposes defined in the statutes: "Promotion of science and research as well as public health and public health care ..." with a focus on ME/CFS. All donations to the gGmbH may be used exclusively for these purposes. 

The ME/CFS Research Foundation has only low administrative costs, which are already covered by dedicated donations. This means we can guarantee that 100% of your donation will go towards funding biomedical research.

Questions regarding research

The ME/CFS Research Foundation exclusively promotes scientific, evidence-based, biomedical research on ME/CFS and Long Covid. Projects and institutes are selected on the basis of quality criteria, which are based, for example, on the "National Action Plan for ME/CFS and the Post-COVID Syndrome" (Link), that has been developed and was recommended to the German government by the patient organisations German Society for ME/CFS (Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS) and Long COVID Germany (Long COVID Deutschland) . The Scientific Advisory Board of the ME/CFS Research Foundation (currently being established) will ensure compliance of all funded projects with these quality criteria.

The ME/CFS Research Foundation exclusively funds scientific, evidence-based, biomedical research on ME/CFS and Long Covid. An international advisory board advises on the use of funds (under construction). Earmarked donations will be directed to the appropriate projects (see the question "I would like to support a specific scientist with my donation"). We will announce the funded institutes and their projects / focal points as soon as the first funds have been pledged.  

Yes, we are not only striving for the exchange of information between researchers on their ongoing studies, but are also working on a network of researchers that goes beyond this. Some of the information exchanged informally within the framework of ongoing projects will only be made public later. We strive for maximum transparency. 

We will publish regular updates on our work. When specific research results can be published depends on the study design and review process. However, we aim to publish both the research protocols (hypothesis, study design, outcome measures) and scientifically validated results of the studies we fund as soon as possible.

Yes, we aim to support scientists who are already familiar with the international state of research on ME/CFS. In addition, we are already networked with many international scientists and are constantly expanding this network. Our international scientific advisory board (currently being established) will also promote the networking of researchers.

Questions regarding other issues

Yes, the ME/CFS Research Foundation will organise congresses and informal exchange events between the funded researchers. The extent to which these events will be open to the public must be considered on a case-by-case basis. Information on this will be posted on our website in due course. Further training events for practising doctors are not planned within the framework of our activities. However, these are regularly being organised and provided e.g. by the German Society for ME/CFS (Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS) of by the Charité Fatigue Center (Charité Fatigue Zentrum) .

Unfortunately, no. We are in close contact with medical doctors and researchers, but cannot and must not recommend any particular medical treatments or medical doctors. The Charité Fatigue Centre offers information for patients and an overview of ME/CFS support groups and patient organisations in Germany. Information on therapy approaches and ME/CFS research is available in layman's terms on the excellent blog Healthrising.org (English language only). We intend to build up a range of other "resources" on our website in the near future.

We regularly add to the list of FAQs. If you have a question that has not yet been asked or answered adequately here, please simply send us an e-mail:  FAQ@mecfs-research.org   We will then comment on your question as soon as possible.

en_GBEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Fragen zu Spenden

Aktuell können Sie auf unser Spendenkonto überweisen oder einzahlen. Wir arbeiten daran, andere Zahlungsarten (z.B. SEPA Abbuchung, Paypal, …) anzubieten. Jedoch werden alle anderen Zahlungsarten mit Kosten i.H.v. 2-4% der gespendeten Summen verbunden sein. Deshalb spenden Sie gerne schon heute per Überweisung oder Dauerauftrag.

Hinweise zur steuerlichen Anerkennung, Spendenbescheinigungen, etc. finden Sie auf unserer Spenden Seite

Die ME/CFS Research Foundation hat nur geringe Verwaltungskosten, die über dedizierte Spenden bereits gedeckt sind. So können wir garantieren, dass Ihre Spende zu 100% der Förderung biomedizinischer Forschung zugeführt wird.

Wir streben an, dass unsere Forschungsförderung an Universitäten und Institute zu 100% der Forschung zugute kommt (also ohne pauschale Abschläge für Verwaltung, Administration, o.ä.). Sollte das im Einzelfall nicht möglich sein, würden wir entweder andere Institute oder Projekte priorisieren bzw. wir versuchen mit den betreffenden Instituten eine entsprechende Regelung ohne Abzüge zu treffen.

Der Vollständigkeit halber wollen wir aber darauf hinweisen, dass jedes Forschungsprojekt einen gewissen Anteil an administrativen Aufwänden beinhaltet (u.a. um zwingende regulatorische Vorgaben zu erfüllen).

Ja, Sie können zweckgebunden spenden. Bitte vermerken Sie dafür im Betreff der Überweisung den Zweck der Spende, z.B. „Spende für Projekt XY an Uniklinik XY“ oder senden uns eine erläuternde e-Mail. Aktuell können wir jedoch nur gemeinnützige Projekte in Deutschland fördern. Spenden ohne Zweckbindung werden entsprechend unserer Forschungs-Qualitätskriterien und der Priorisierung unseres wissenschaftlichen Beirats (im Aufbau) vergeben.

Fragen zur ME/CFS Research Foundation

Wir sind formell eine gemeinnützige Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (gGmbH). Das ist eine für unsere Zwecke flexiblere Rechtsform als die Stiftung bürgerlichen Rechts. Hinsichtlich der Zweckbindung unserer Aktivitäten, Spendenfähigkeit, Gemeinnützigkeit bestehen jedoch keine nennenswerten Unterschiede zu einer Stiftung.  Auch viele andere sog. „Stiftungen“ in Deutschland sind formell ebenfalls keine Stiftung bürgerlichen Rechts.

Die ME/CFS Research Foundation gehört als gGmbH formell dem Gründer und geschäftsführenden Gesellschafter Jörg Heydecke. Darüber hinaus erfüllen ehrenamtliche Helfer unter der Leitung von Martin Hippe (Co-Gründer) verschiedene Aufgaben für die Gesellschaft. Ein international besetzter wissenschaftlicher Beirat, der über die Mittelverwendung beraten soll, befindet sich im Aufbau. Darüber hinaus arbeiten wir mit den im Bereich ME/CFS aktiven, großen Patientenorganisationen  in Deutschland zusammen:
Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS e.V.
Fatigatio e.V. – Bundesverband ME/CFS 
Long Covid Deutschland
Lost Voices Stiftung

Das Gemeinnützigkeitsrecht und unsere Satzung beschränken die Verwendung der Mittel auf die in der Satzung definierten, ausschließlich gemeinnützigen Zwecke: „Förderung von Wissenschaft und Forschung sowie des öffentlichen Gesundheitswesens und der öffentlichen Gesundheitspflege …“ mit dem Schwerpunkt ME/CFS. Alle Spenden an die gGmbH dürfen ausschließlich für diese Zwecke verwendet werden. 

Die ME/CFS Research Foundation hat nur geringe Verwaltungskosten, die über dedizierte Spenden bereits gedeckt sind. So können wir garantieren, dass Ihre Spende zu 100% der Förderung biomedizinischer Forschung zugeführt wird.

Fragen zur Forschung

Die ME/CFS Research Foundation fördert ausschliesslich wissenschaftliche, evidenzbasierte, biomedizinische Forschung zu ME/CFS und Long Covid. Die Auswahl der Projekte und Institute erfolgt anhand von Qualitätskriterien, die sich z.B. am „Nationalen Aktionsplan für ME/CFS und das Post-COVID-Syndrom“ (Link) orientieren, der durch die Deutsche Gesellschaft für ME/CFS und Long COVID Deutschland ausgearbeitet wurde. Der wissenschaftliche Beirat der ME/CFS Research Foundation (im Aufbau) stellt die Einhaltung dieser Qualitätskriterien sicher.

Die ME/CFS Research Foundation fördert ausschliesslich wissenschaftliche, evidenzbasierte, biomedizinische Forschung zu ME/CFS und Long Covid. Über die Mittelverwendung wird ein international besetzter Beirat beraten (im Aufbau). Zweckgebundene Spenden werden den entsprechenden Projekten zugeleitet (vgl. die Frage „Ich möchte eine/n bestimmten Wissenschaftler:In mit meiner Spende unterstützen“). Wir werden die geförderten Institute und deren Projekte / Schwerpunkte bekanntgeben, sobald die ersten Fördergelder zugesagt wurden.  

Ja. Wir streben nicht nur den Austausch der Wissenschaftler:innen zu Ihren laufenden Studien an, sondern arbeiten auch an einer darüber hinaus gehenden Vernetzung der Forscher:innen. Ein Teil der informell, im Rahmen laufender Projekte ausgetauschter Informationen wird erst später an die Öffentlichkeit gehen können. Wir bemühen uns dabei um maximal mögliche Transparenz. 

Wir werden regelmässige Updates zu unserer Arbeit veröffentlichen. Wann konkrete Forschungsergebnisse veröffentlicht werden können hängt vom Studiendesign und Review Verfahren ab. Wir streben aber sowohl die Veröffentlichung der Forschungsprotokolle (Hypothese, Studiendesign, Zielmessung) als auch eine möglichst zeitnahe Veröffentlichung wissenschaftlich gesicherter Ergebnisse der von uns geförderten Studien an.

Ja. Wir streben eine Förderung von Wissenschaftler:innen an, die bereits mit dem internationalen Forschungsstand zu ME/CFS vertraut sind. Darüber hinaus sind wir bereits mit vielen internationalen Wissenschaftler:innen vernetzt und bauen diese Vernetzung stetig weiter aus. Unser international besetzter wissenschaftlicher Beirat (im Aufbau) wird ebenfalls die Vernetzung der Forscher:innen fördern.

Fragen zu sonstigen Themen

Ja. Die ME/CFS Research Foundation wird Kongresse und informelle Austauschveranstaltungen zwischen den geförderten Wissenschaftler:innen ausrichten. Inwiefern diese Veranstaltungen öffentlich zugängig sein werden, muss im Einzelfall abgewogen werden. Hierzu wird es zu gegebener Zeit Informationen auf unserer Website geben. Fortbildungsveranstaltungen für niedergelassene Ärzte sind im Rahmen unserer Aktivitäten b.a.w. nicht geplant. Diese werden aber regelmässig z.B. von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für ME/CFS oder vom Charité Fatigue Zentrum angeboten.

Leider nein. Wir stehen mit Mediziner:innen und Forscher:innen im engen Kontakt, können und dürfen jedoch keine medizinischen Behandlungen oder Ärzte empfehlen. Das Charité Fatigue Zentrum bietet Informationen für Patienten und eine Übersicht der ME/CFS Selbsthilfegruppen und Patientenorganisationen in Deutschland. Informationen zu Therapieansätzen und Forschung sind laienverständlich auf dem amerikanischen Blog Healthrising.org zu finden. Wir planen später ein Angebot an weiteren „Ressourcen“ auf unserer Website aufzubauen.

Wir ergänzen die Liste dieser FAQs regelmässig. Wenn Sie eine Frage haben, die hier noch nicht gestellt oder nicht hinreichend beantwortet wurde, senden Sie uns bitte einfach eine e-Mail an:  FAQ@mecfs-research.org   Wir werden dann sobald möglich zu Ihrer Frage Stellung nehmen.

de_DEGerman